Compassion

This morning I was thinking about compassion as I read the blogs of my classmates. Marcus Borg has a great line in his book, “Convictions”; “A primary quality of a life deeply centered in God is growth in compassion”. That growth in compassion is what I see in the blog’s of my classmates as they work in their missions this summer.

 

As I understand compassion it is not just a feeling but action. Compassion is also feeling with and to suffer with. Micah proclaimed, “and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness and to walk humbly with your God”(6.8). Doing justice, being kind, and walking with God puts it in perspective for me. Centering in God and loving God is a lot more than just being kind. I am so thankful for those who go before me to show me the way. Thankful may not be the right word maybe gratitude is the better word. I understand gratitude as an ethical virtue as it has ethical effects.  Gratitude is a form of God centered thinking. Prayer does shape lives.

 

Leave a Reply

