Summer placement feelings

Image

 

Acts 11:19 “Those who had been scattered because of the persecution over Stephen, traveled as far as Phoenicia, Cyprus and Antioch, proclaiming the message but only to the Jews”.

 

But only to the Jews! Do I get it? Do I still only go where it is familiar both in language and culture? Do I still look for the easy way? These questions spin in my head as I prepare to work in the refugee network this summer. Working with people that are from a foreign culture and speak a language that I have never heard. Sure I can smile a lot and nod my head but what will I bring to their new world? What type of icon will I be in the mist of unfamiliar ground? Acts 11:26 “It was in Antioch that the disciples were first called Christians”. Will it be in the food pantry, in the office, or at home doing computer work that I will first be call a missionary? Or do we just stand with coffee cup in hand and just say “I are one”. What a strange name for me in a strange place, I am a freshman again, a rookie, a true green recruit. Newbie reporting for work sir. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

